Protocols
Kisspeptin protocols in the published literature
StatusEarly clinical
PeptideHound Staff · Last editorially reviewed · 11 sources
The published kisspeptin amounts come from one small human study and a handful of rodent experiments, and none of them is a dose anyone was meant to follow. In people, native kisspeptin-54 was given at 9.6 nmol/kg, set per kilogram of body weight, to 21 women in a fertility study.
That same study gave a longer-acting agonist, MVT-602, at 0.01 and 0.03 nmol/kg, hundreds of times less by count of molecules, and still saw a comparable rise in luteinising hormone. An agonist is a molecule built to switch on the same receptor. In rats, kisspeptin-10 was injected into the abdomen twice daily at amounts from one microgram down to ten picograms, and in another rat study it was given at 3 ng up the nose or 30 ng by injection.
Read the units before the numbers. The human figures are per kilogram of a woman's body weight, the rat figures are fixed amounts for an animal weighing a few hundred grams, and the laboratory figure is a concentration in a dish. None of them converts into another, and we do not convert any of them into an amount for a person.
No kisspeptin product is recorded as approved among these sources, so there is no labelled dose. The only registered study of sustained use is still recruiting.
Evidence: Not dosing guidance · one human study, 21 women, per-kilogram amounts of two different molecules · the remaining amounts come from rats, mice and tissue in a dish · no study among the research behind this page gave kisspeptin to men or followed a repeated human schedule
What amounts of kisspeptin did the published studies use?
animal model
Six sets of figures appear in the research behind this page, and they belong to different molecules, species and units. In the one human study, the receptor agonist MVT-602 was given at 0.01 and 0.03 nmol/kg and native kisspeptin-54 at 9.6 nmol/kg.1 In prepubertal rats, a range of kisspeptin-10 doses was given, listed as 1 μg, 1 ηg and 10 ρg, intraperitoneally twice daily.2 The abstract prints those units with Greek letters, and we read them as one microgram, one nanogram and ten picograms, a range spanning a hundred-thousand-fold. In a rat behaviour study, kisspeptin-10 was given at 3 ng intranasally or 30 ng intraperitoneally.3 In a laboratory study on human ovarian tissue, the exposed group sat in 1 μM kisspeptin.4 The mouse pain work and a rat cell model report amounts less precisely, and they are covered below.
| Study | Molecule | Amounts studied |
|---|---|---|
| Human study | MVT-602, a receptor agonist | 0.01 and 0.03 nmol/kg |
| Human study | Kisspeptin-54 | 9.6 nmol/kg |
| Prepubertal rats | Kisspeptin-10 | 1 μg, 1 ηg and 10 ρg, into the abdominal cavity twice daily |
| Rat behaviour study | Kisspeptin-10 | 3 ng into the nose or 30 ng into the abdominal cavity |
| Human ovarian tissue in the lab | Kisspeptin | 1 μM, a lab-dish concentration |
Who received those amounts?
animal model
Almost nobody a reader is likely to resemble. The human amounts went to the follicular phase of healthy women (n = 9), and to women with polycystic ovary syndrome or hypothalamic amenorrhea, six of each.1 That is 21 women in total, each a fertility research subject in the first half of her cycle. The rat behaviour study used 50 copulation naive male Wistar rats divided into 5 groups.3 The pain study gave different doses of kisspeptin-13 to adult male C57BL/6 mice without stating the amounts in its abstract.5 The Leydig-cell rats were 35 days old, which in a rat is before puberty. No man, adolescent or older adult received any of these amounts in a study among the research behind this page. So every figure on this page describes the subjects who received it and no one else, which is the opposite of what a dosage chart pretends to do.
How was kisspeptin administered in the studies?
animal model
Three routes appear, and the route changed what was measured. In the rat behaviour study, kisspeptin-10 given by injection into the abdomen affected both testosterone concentration and sexual motivation.3 Given intranasally, the same peptide did not act on testosterone but increased sexual motivation in those rats.3 So the nose and the abdomen were not two ways of delivering one effect. They produced different results at different amounts, ten times apart. The Leydig-cell rats were injected into the abdomen, which is what intraperitoneally means. The human study's abstract does not state the route at all, and we do not fill that gap from memory. The ovarian tissue was simply bathed in solution. What a person might do with a vial is not a route any of these studies tested.
How often was kisspeptin given, and for how long?
human pilot / early trial
Twice a day in one rat study, and apparently once in most of the others. The Leydig-cell rats were dosed twice daily after every 12 hours, with control rats injected with physiological saline in parallel.2 The abstract does not say how many days the course ran, only that measurements were taken when dosing ended. In the behaviour study, blood samples were collected 30 min after the substance administration, which points to a single dose per animal.3 The human study tracked how long luteinising hormone took to peak, 21.4 hours after the agonist against 4.7 hours after kisspeptin-54.1 A peak timed in hours describes a single exposure, and none of the studies covered here reports a human schedule, a number of days or a course length; the one registered study of sustained administration has not published results.
Is there a kisspeptin dosage chart?
animal model
Not one that can honestly be built from this record. A chart implies a row for each category of person and an amount considered suitable for them, and the published figures cannot populate even one such row. They come from 21 women in a fertility study, rats of two strains and two ages, mice, and tissue in a laboratory dish, expressed in four incompatible units: per kilogram in people, fixed weights in rats, unstated amounts in mice and a concentration in the laboratory. The human study itself was designed to characterize the action of MVT-602 in comparison with native kisspeptin-54, not to find a dose for anyone to use.1 A chart assembled from that material would place numbers from incompatible experiments side by side as though they answered a single question. Any chart circulating online therefore did not originate in the studies covered here, and it represents somebody's editorial choice rather than a research finding.
What does nmol/kg mean, and why does it not translate into a vial?
human pilot / early trial
A nanomole is a count of molecules rather than a weight. Per kilogram means the amount was scaled to each woman's body weight. Counting molecules is how researchers compare two compounds fairly when the molecules differ in size. That is why the human study could set the agonist and kisspeptin-54 side by side in the same unit. Despite the far smaller amount, the agonist's luteinising hormone rise in healthy women was similar in amplitude to that after kisspeptin-54.1 A vial, by contrast, is labelled by weight, in milligrams. Moving between the two needs the exact molecule and its molecular weight, and kisspeptin-10, kisspeptin-13 and kisspeptin-54 are different lengths. The same number of nanomoles of each therefore weighs a different amount. We do not perform that conversion. A per-kilogram figure from a research subject, carried into milligrams for an unlabelled vial, would be a dose recommendation in disguise.
Why is a study amount not a protocol?
animal model
Because each amount was chosen to answer a question about the subjects in that study, and it means nothing outside that frame. The Leydig-cell study was conducted to check the ultrastructure of Leydig cells in prepubertal male rats in response to a range of kisspeptin doses.2 That range was built to look for damage, and it found it. It concluded that chronic intermittent administration of kisspeptin-10 has a dose-dependent degenerative effect in prepubertal male rats.2 An amount picked to find harm in a young rat is not an amount for anyone. The human amounts were picked to compare two molecules over hours. Neither study set out to find what a person should take, and treating either figure as a protocol borrows an authority the study never claimed. That is why no human-equivalent number appears anywhere on this page, which is not the same as hiding one. It is declining to invent one.
Does a lab-dish concentration tell you anything about a dose?
animal model
No, and the difference is worth understanding because lab figures get quoted as doses. In the ovarian tissue study, pieces were divided randomly into two groups, one left alone and one given 1 μM kisspeptin.4 One micromolar is a concentration, meaning how much is dissolved in each litre of the liquid around the tissue. It describes what the cells sat in, rather than what a body would receive. The authors report that maturity genes were expressed during treatment, and they conclude kisspeptin increases the maturity of follicles in that medium.4 A separate rat study used kisspeptin-54 in liver cells to establish a cellular model, without stating the amount in its abstract.6 Both are laboratory set-ups. A concentration that changes gene readings in a dish is not evidence about any amount given to a person.
Is there a cycle or a break in the published work?
registered trial
No cycle appears in the research behind this page, and the reason is pharmacology rather than neglect. A 2022 review says man-made versions of kisspeptin might get round some of the drawbacks that come with the natural forms.7 Among those challenges, covered on the the Kisspeptin overview overview, is a response that fades as dosing continues. That makes on and off schedules a live question with no published answer. The registered study of Reproductive Hormones During Sustained Administration of Kisspeptin is listed as RECRUITING.8 The only once-versus-repeated comparison among these sources ran the other way, switching kisspeptin cells off in mice either once or over two weeks.9 That work silenced the body's own kisspeptin neurons rather than giving any kisspeptin, so it says nothing about a cycle of doses.
What was the starting amount in the studies?
human pilot / early trial
There was none, in the sense people usually mean. No study among the research behind this page started low and stepped up. The rat Leydig study ran three fixed amounts in separate groups, spread across a hundred-thousand-fold range. The human study gave two fixed agonist amounts and one fixed kisspeptin-54 amount, and compared the responses. A starting amount implies a schedule that rises over time, built around how a person tolerates each step, and that design does not appear in this record. The 2020 authors read their clinical and mechanistic data as identifying MVT-602 as having considerable therapeutic potential for female reproductive disorders.1 Therapeutic potential is a statement about the agonist, in women with reproductive disorders. It is not a statement about kisspeptin-10, about men, or about where anyone should begin, so it does not carry over to any of them.
Does an approved dose apply to kisspeptin?
animal model
No kisspeptin product is recorded as approved among the sources behind this page, so there is no labelled amount to report. What exists nearby is approval activity on a neighbouring signal. A 2020 review notes that neurokinin 3 receptor antagonists have shown encouraging preliminary results in postmenopausal cancer-free patients with hot flushes.10 Those drugs block a different receptor in the same brain circuit. Their amounts belong to them, and they say nothing about how much kisspeptin anyone should take. The kisspeptin system also responds to the body's own hormones. In neonatal rats treated with estradiol, the animals had fewer hypothalamic kisspeptin neurons, but the GnRH-LH axis remained responsive to kisspeptin stimulation.11 That shows the response to kisspeptin depends on the state of the system it lands in, which is one more reason a fixed number travels poorly.
How do you reconstitute a kisspeptin vial?
The arithmetic is identical for any freeze-dried peptide, and it requires only the numbers printed on your own vial: concentration equals the stated amount in the vial divided by the volume of liquid added. A vial stated at 5 mg, mixed with 2 mL, holds 2.5 mg in each millilitre, which is 2,500 micrograms per millilitre. The reconstitution calculator at the reconstitution calculator does that division on figures you supply, and it does not suggest an amount. Two cautions apply here that would not apply to a labelled medicine. The stated amount on an unlabelled vial is a claim by whoever filled it, and nothing among the research behind this page checked any such claim. The published amounts above are in nanomoles per kilogram, nanograms or a concentration, and none of them maps onto a count of millilitres from a vial, so the arithmetic can tell you what is in a syringe but not that any study used that amount.
What we don’t know
The gaps in the evidence matter as much as the findings.
- 01What amount of kisspeptin, if any, suits a man. No study among the research behind this page gave kisspeptin to men.
- 02What a repeated human schedule looks like. The registered study of sustained administration is listed as recruiting and has not reported.
- 03How long the rat dosing course ran. The Leydig-cell abstract gives the frequency but not the number of days.
- 04What route the human study used. Its abstract does not state one.
- 05What amounts the mouse pain study used. Its abstract reports different doses without giving them.
- 06What a vial sold outside a clinic actually contains. No source among the research behind this page analysed one.
- 07How a nanomole-per-kilogram figure relates to a milligram label. That needs the exact molecule, and we do not perform conversions that would amount to a dose.
Sources
- 1Kisspeptin receptor agonist has therapeutic potential for female reproductive disorders J Clin Invest 2020. doi:10.1172/JCI139681human pilot / early trial
- 2Dose-Dependent Degeneration of Leydig Cells Following Kisspeptin-10 Administration: An Ultrastructural Study Protein Pept Lett 2022. doi:10.2174/0929866528666211213090033animal model
- 3POSSIBLE ROLE OF KISSPEPTIN IN TESTOSTERONE-INDEPENDENT REGULATION OF SEXUAL MOTIVATION IN MALE RATS Georgian Med News 2022. PMID 35271483animal model
- 4Effects of kisspeptin on the maturation of human ovarian primordial follicles in vitro Zygote 2024. doi:10.1017/S0967199423000527primary research
- 5Kisspeptin-13 induces hyperalgesia and modulates the expression of opioid and glutamate receptors in mice Pharmacol Biochem Behav 2025. doi:10.1016/j.pbb.2025.174098animal model
- 6Jiawei Buzhong Yiqi Decoction attenuates polycystic ovary syndrome through regulating kisspeptin-GPR54-AKT-SHBG system Phytomedicine 2024. doi:10.1016/j.phymed.2024.155931animal model
- 7Novel therapeutic avenues for kisspeptin Curr Opin Pharmacol 2022. doi:10.1016/j.coph.2022.102319review
- 8Reproductive Hormones During Sustained Administration of Kisspeptin NCT02081924registered trial
- 9Targeted inhibition of kisspeptin neurons reverses hyperandrogenemia and abnormal hyperactive LH secretion in a preclinical mouse model of polycystic ovary syndrome Hum Reprod 2024. doi:10.1093/humrep/deae153animal model
- 10[Hot flushes and breast cancer with positive hormone receptors: Mechanisms and management] Bull Cancer 2020. doi:10.1016/j.bulcan.2020.07.005review
- 11Single neonatal estrogen implant sterilizes female animals by decreasing hypothalamic KISS1 expression Sci Rep 2023. doi:10.1038/s41598-023-36727-8animal model
