Protocols
PNC-27 protocols in the published literature
StatusPreclinical only
PeptideHound Staff · Last editorially reviewed · 11 sources
No human dose of PNC-27 exists in the research behind this page, because none of those studies gave it to a person. What the studies report are concentrations added to cancer cells in laboratory dishes and a few mouse schedules, and the mouse abstracts do not state the amounts given.
The most specific figure is a laboratory concentration: in a 2025 cervical cancer study the peptide killed half the cancer cells at 12.4 micromolar, a measure of how much is dissolved in the culture fluid. The only defined animal course is two weeks of the related peptide PNC-28, injected into the abdominal cavity of immune-deficient mice carrying implanted tumours.
Neither figure translates to a person. A concentration in a dish is not an amount in a body, the mouse amounts are not reported, and no study among these sources measured how PNC-27 is absorbed, distributed or cleared. We do not convert animal or laboratory figures into human doses.
PNC-27 has no approved label anywhere in these sources, so no regulator has set an amount either. Any schedule attributed to it originates outside this research.
Evidence: Not dosing guidance · no human dose exists in these studies · laboratory concentrations and mouse schedules only · mouse amounts not stated in the abstracts · never converted to a human figure
What is the PNC-27 peptide protocol?
in vitro
There is no PNC-27 protocol for people in the published research behind this page, because none of those studies gave the peptide to a person. No human amount, schedule, route or course length exists among these sources. What the research contains instead is two kinds of experimental setting: concentrations of peptide added to cancer cells in laboratory dishes, and a few schedules used in mice, most of whose amounts the abstracts leave unstated. Even the most specific figure in the record is a laboratory concentration: in a 2025 cervical cancer study, the authors report that PNC-27 is cytotoxic even at low doses (IC50=12.4 μM), meaning a concentration in the culture fluid.1 Any protocol attributed to PNC-27 elsewhere therefore does not originate in these studies. A concentration that works in a dish does not tell you what to give a body, and nothing on this page can be read as a protocol.
What amounts of PNC-27 did the published studies use?
in vitro
Very few amounts are stated at all, and every stated one belongs to a dish rather than a body. The cervical figure of 12.4 μM above is an IC50, the concentration that kills half the cancer cells in the dish, and μM, micromolar, is a measure of how much peptide is dissolved in a given volume of fluid. The same study determined dose response curves for incubation of PNC-27 with the human squamous cervical cancer cell line HTB-35, so the figure comes from a series of increasing concentrations rather than a single chosen amount.1 The 2017 ovarian work describes a two-step design in which the cells were cultured in media containing various concentrations of PNC-27 for 24 hours, without listing those concentrations in its abstract.2 For the mouse experiments, none of the abstracts behind this page states an amount per animal or per kilogram. That absence is reported here as it stands rather than filled in from elsewhere.
Who or what received those amounts?
animal model
Cancer cells in culture received almost all of them, and mice received the remainder. No person received any. In the leukaemia study, mice carried human and mouse leukaemias and the peptide's effect was tested, as demonstrated respectively in primary and secondary transplant experiments, meaning the disease was moved into a first set of mice and then into a second.3 In the colon cancer study, bioluminescence imaging measured PNC-27 effects on in vivo tumor growth, a method in which the tumour cells glow so that their growth can be tracked in a living mouse.4 The pancreatic experiments with the related peptide PNC-28 used nude mice, an immune-deficient strain. Each of these is an animal carrying an implanted cancer, which is a very different recipient from a person, with or without a diagnosis.
How was PNC-27 administered in the studies?
animal model
In the lab, by adding it to the fluid around cells in a dish. In animals, mostly by injection into the belly cavity, close to tumours that had been placed there. The 2017 ovarian work paired the peptide with a chemotherapy drug, and its dish arm began with a first step in which ID8 cells were exposed to paclitaxel for 12 hours in various concentrations.2 The 2006 PNC-28 study reports that when administered over a 2-week period in the peritoneal cavities of nude mice containing simultaneously transplanted tumors, PNC-28 causes complete destruction of these tumors.5 Look at what that set-up is: the peptide and the tumour cells were put in the same body space at the same time. That is about the easiest test a peptide that works on cell surfaces could be given, and it describes a lab model rather than a route tried in a person.
Does it matter where the peptide is delivered?
animal model
In the mouse work, considerably, and this is among the more informative dosing observations available. A 2007 summary reports that the p53 peptides eradicate these tumor cells when administered at sites near these tumors, which is a narrower claim than it first appears.6 When PNC-28 was delivered at a distant site instead, the 2006 study found that PNC-28 causes a complete blockade of any tumor growth during its 2-week period of administration and 2 weeks posttreatment, a delay rather than an elimination.5 The authors draw the conclusion themselves, writing that the peptide may be effective especially if delivered directly to the tumor.5 That distance effect is consistent with a peptide that has to reach the tumour surface in sufficient concentration, and it is a reason a mouse result near the tumour cannot be read as a result for a peptide travelling through a whole body.
How often was PNC-27 given, and for how long?
in vitro
Exposure times in the laboratory are measured in minutes and hours, and in animals in weeks at most. In a labelling experiment on breast cancer cells, the developers reported that at 30 min, there is significant combined punctate yellow fluorescence, meaning intact peptide had already gathered in the cancer cell membrane.7 The ovarian cell work exposed cells to the peptide for 24 hours, and the leukaemia cell work recorded cell rupture within four hours. In the paclitaxel mouse experiment, the chemotherapy was given weekly, and the abstract does not state how often the peptide itself was given. The only defined animal course is the two weeks of PNC-28 described above, followed by two weeks of observation. That is a single course in mice, and it does not describe a cycle, a maintenance schedule or a repeat course, none of which appears among these sources.
Did more PNC-27 kill more cancer cells?
animal model
In the dish, yes, and that is the one dose relationship the research reports consistently. The 2017 ovarian study found that PNC-27 mediated comprehensive, dose-dependent killing of ID8 cells, a mouse ovarian cancer line.2 A 2008 pancreatic study of the shorter PNC-28 similarly reports that the authors observed membrane pore formation and dose-dependent killing in cultured cancer cells.8 In a p53-deficient leukaemia cell line, the 2014 study reports the peptide inducing nearly 100 percent cell killing with LDH release, LDH being an enzyme that escapes from ruptured cells.9 A dose-response curve in a dish describes how cancer cells respond to rising concentrations of peptide in fluid. It says nothing about which amount, if any, would reach a tumour inside a person, or what that amount would do to everything else on the way.
Does combining PNC-27 with other agents change the amount needed?
animal model
In the lab it did, which is one more reason a single figure cannot be lifted out of this work and used on its own. The 2017 ovarian study used a chart of paired amounts that each killed the same share of cells, and found that the isobologram for dose combinations that were isoeffective indicates synergistic effect between the 2 agents, meaning the pair did more together than either one would alone.2 A 2023 cell study added ketone bodies, the fuel the body makes from fat, to dishes of cancer cells and reports that adding them to several agents including PNC-27 substantially lowers their IC50 values, so less of each was needed to kill half the cells.10 So the amount that killed half the cells changed with what else was in the dish. That is a real lab finding, and it does not tell you anything about mixing PNC-27 with chemotherapy or with a diet in a person.
Why is a concentration in a dish not a dose?
in vitro
Because the two are measured in different units and describe different situations, and the conversion between them is the step none of these studies attempted, which is not the same as a step that failed. A laboratory concentration is fixed by the experimenter and read out by tests such as the one used in the leukaemia work, where cell viability was assessed using MTT assay, a colour test for living cells.11 A dose in a person is an amount delivered into a body that dilutes it, distributes it through the circulation, metabolises it and eliminates it. None of the studies behind this page measured any of those steps for PNC-27, so there is no bridge between the 12.4 μM figure and a quantity in a syringe. We do not build one, and we do not convert mouse or dish figures into human ones on any page.
Why is a study amount not a protocol?
Each amount in this research was selected to answer one experimental question, in one model, over a brief period, and that is fundamentally different from an amount intended for a person. The cervical IC50 was determined to compare cancer cells with normal cells. The two-week PNC-28 course was designed to evaluate tumour growth in immune-deficient mice. Neither was intended to identify a tolerable amount, an effective amount, or the margin between them, which is precisely what a dose-finding trial in people would measure. No such trial appears among these sources, and that is not the same as a trial that found no tolerable amount; it is a question that has not been asked. The practical position is therefore simple to state: there is no human dosing information for PNC-27 in this research, and the side effects that a dose would have to be weighed against are unmeasured in people, as the PNC-27 safety page sets out. What the peptide did in each cell and mouse model is covered on the PNC-27 benefits page.
What we don’t know
The gaps in the evidence matter as much as the findings.
- 01Any amount of PNC-27 for a person. None of the studies behind this page gave it to anyone, so there is no starting amount, schedule or course length to report.
- 02How much peptide the mice received. The mouse abstracts behind this page report routes and durations but not amounts.
- 03How PNC-27 behaves in a body: how much is absorbed, where it goes, how quickly it is broken down and how it is cleared. No study among these sources measured it.
- 04Whether a concentration that kills cancer cells in a dish can be reached at a tumour in a living body without harming other tissue.
- 05Whether repeated courses, breaks or cycles change anything. The only defined animal course is a single two-week course of the related peptide PNC-28.
Sources
- 1HDM-2-Targeting Peptide PNC-27 Kills Cervical Cancer Cells but not Normal Cervical Cells Ann Clin Lab Sci 2025. PMID 40750238in vitro
- 2Synergy between Paclitaxel and Anti-Cancer Peptide PNC-27 in the Treatment of Ovarian Cancer Ann Clin Lab Sci 2017. PMID 28667027animal model
- 3Targeting cell membrane HDM2: A novel therapeutic approach for acute myeloid leukemia Leukemia 2020. doi:10.1038/s41375-019-0522-9animal model
- 4Molecular Targeting of H/MDM-2 Oncoprotein in Human Colon Cancer Cells and Stem-like Colonic Epithelial-derived Progenitor Cells Anticancer Res 2021. doi:10.21873/anticanres.14749animal model
- 5PNC-28, a p53-derived peptide that is cytotoxic to cancer cells, blocks pancreatic cancer cell growth in vivo Int J Cancer 2006. doi:10.1002/ijc.22029animal model
- 6Novel peptides from the RAS-p21 and p53 proteins for the treatment of cancer Cancer Ther 2007. PMID 18007958animal model
- 7The anti-cancer peptide, PNC-27, induces tumor cell lysis as the intact peptide Cancer Chemother Pharmacol 2010. doi:10.1007/s00280-009-1166-7in vitro
- 8The penetratin sequence in the anticancer PNC-28 peptide causes tumor cell necrosis rather than apoptosis of human pancreatic cancer cells Ann Surg Oncol 2008. doi:10.1245/s10434-008-0147-0animal model
- 9The anti-cancer peptide, PNC-27, induces tumor cell necrosis of a poorly differentiated non-solid tissue human leukemia cell line that depends on expression of HDM-2 in the plasma membrane of these cells Ann Clin Lab Sci 2014. PMID 25117093animal model
- 10Ketone Bodies Induce Unique Inhibition of Tumor Cell Proliferation and Enhance the Efficacy of Anti-Cancer Agents Biomedicines 2023. doi:10.3390/biomedicines11092515in vitro
- 11Targeting Membrane HDM-2 by PNC-27 Induces Necrosis in Leukemia Cells But Not in Normal Hematopoietic Cells Anticancer Res 2020. doi:10.21873/anticanres.14488in vitro
