Skip to content
PeptideHound

Protocols

Natriuretic peptide protocols in the published literature

StatusLab measurement

PeptideHound Staff · Last editorially reviewed · 27 sources

Nesiritide, recombinant human B-type natriuretic peptide, was given in trials as a hospital infusion into a vein, measured in micrograms per kilogram per minute. The VMAC trial chose a 0.2 microgram/kg bolus followed by a 0.01 microg/kg/min infusion, a study parameter for hospitalised adults rather than guidance.

Other trials ran the drip at 0.015 or 0.03 microg/kg/min against dobutamine, and the largest, ASCEND-HF, gave it for 24 to 168 hours. A 2015 meta-analysis found high-dose nesiritide strongly associated with worsening kidney function, while standard and low doses showed no significant difference.

Carperitide, an A-type natriuretic peptide drip used mainly in Japan, has no amount in its published summary. A BNP or NT-proBNP figure in picograms per millilitre is a blood reading, never a dose.

Nesiritide's US approval belongs to that hospital product, given under monitoring, and its labelled schedule is not quoted in these sources. No figure on this page carries to a vial sold as a research compound.

Evidence: Not dosing guidance · infusion rates reported by nesiritide trials in hospitalised adults, children and surgical patients · a 2015 meta-analysis split kidney outcomes by dose · carperitide's summary gives no amount · a BNP or NT-proBNP figure is a blood concentration

What amounts did the nesiritide and carperitide studies use?

systematic review

The nesiritide trials report their amounts as infusion rates, and they sit in a narrow band. VMAC, the study designed to answer the FDA's 1999 questions, chose a dosing regimen, 0.2 microgram/kg bolus followed by 0.01 microg/kg/min continuous infusion, to give rapid onset without a high incidence of symptomatic hypotension.1 A bolus is a single quick injection, and the infusion then runs continuously. PRECEDENT randomized 255 patients to 1 of 2 doses of intravenous nesiritide (0.015 or 0.03 microg/kg/min) or dobutamine (> or =5 microg/kg/min).2 After heart valve surgery, a pilot trial gave a 72-hour infusion of 0.01 mcg/kg/min to 9 patients, against placebo in 10.6 ASCEND-HF gave nesiritide or placebo for 24 to 168 hours, and its summary states no rate.3 ROSE-AHF gave a low dose for 72 hours to patients with kidney dysfunction, and its summaries state no rate either.78 For carperitide, the 2025 summary gives no amount, and the figures sit inside the nine studies it pooled.5 These are rates chosen for monitored hospital patients, reported as study parameters rather than guidance.

Infusion rates and durations as each trial reported them, in hospital patients under monitoring. Study parameters only, not a dosing guide, and not applicable to material sold as a research compound.
StudyPatientsAmount reportedDuration
VMACAdults in hospital, decompensated heart failure0.2 µg/kg bolus, then 0.01 µg/kg/minNot stated in summary
PRECEDENT255 adults in hospital0.015 or 0.03 µg/kg/min (dobutamine arm 5 µg/kg/min or more)Not stated in summary
Valve surgery pilot9 given nesiritide, 10 placebo0.01 µg/kg/min72 hours
ASCEND-HFAdults in hospital, acute heart failureNot stated in summary24 to 168 hours
ROSE-AHFAcute heart failure with kidney dysfunctionLow dose, no figure in summary72 hours
Carperitide meta-analysisAcute heart failure, nine studiesNot stated in summaryNot stated in summary

Who received these infusions?

systematic review

Almost all were adults admitted to hospital with acute decompensated heart failure, a sudden worsening in which fluid backs up into the lungs and body. Two smaller groups widen the picture a little. A retrospective series covered children in a cardiac intensive care unit with critical congenital heart disease, pulmonary congestion, and inadequate urine output despite diuretic therapy, across 37 infusions, and its summary gives no rate.9 The valve surgery pilot started its infusion three hours after cardiopulmonary bypass, the heart-lung machine used during the operation.6 For carperitide, the 2025 meta-analysis made in-hospital mortality its primary outcome, which places every patient on a ward at the time the drip was given.5 None of these groups was a healthy person, and the out-patient infusions described under the next question come with no stated amounts. Every amount on this page was chosen for a person in one of those states, and watched by staff who could stop it.

How was it given, how often, and for how long?

systematic review

Nesiritide was mostly given by vein, though not always in the same pattern. A 2002 review records that across trials in more than 2000 patients, nesiritide was administered by single or repeated bolus injections, as well as by sustained infusions.10 A 2009 review adds that it has been used as single in-patient infusions, multiple out-patient infusions, and perioperatively, which means around the time of surgery.11 A 2005 review notes that the possibility of subcutaneous injections of nesiritide has been studied in both animals and humans, subcutaneous meaning under the skin, and gives no amounts for it.12 Durations in the trials ran from hours to days, with 72 hours in the surgical pilot and up to 168 hours in ASCEND-HF. Carperitide's summary records only the intravenous route, as an infusion for acute heart failure.5 Each of these patterns is a description of what was done in a setting, rather than a template.

Did the amount given change the kidney or blood pressure findings?

systematic review

On the kidneys, a 2015 analysis says it did. It pooled fifteen randomised trials of patients with heart failure.4 High doses of nesiritide were strongly tied to worse kidney function, at a relative risk of 1.54.4 Standard and low doses showed no clear difference from other care.4 The authors concluded that nesiritide may have a dose-dependent effect on kidney function in these patients.4 On blood pressure, a 2001 review of trials in patients called dose-related low blood pressure the major side effect.13 VMAC picked its regimen partly to keep low blood pressure with symptoms uncommon.1 A 2016 meta-analysis of randomised trials found no added need for dialysis after low-dose nesiritide.14 These are links across trial groups rather than a threshold, and the summaries do not define the dose bands in figures. How the kidney and pressure harms played out overall is weighed on the Natriuretic peptide safety page.

Is there a natriuretic peptide dosage chart?

human RCT

No, and the charts that turn up in searches are almost always reading charts, which list blood concentrations rather than amounts given. A 2026 pooled analysis of 18,216 heart failure trial participants reported a median N-terminal pro-B-type natriuretic peptide of 987 pg/mL, with the middle half running from 517 to 1,781.15 The 2018 PARAGON-HF trial recorded an interquartile range of 464-1610 for the same marker, the range covering the middle half of its patients.16 A picogram is a trillionth of a gram, and those figures describe how much of the heart's own hormone was circulating in a millilitre of blood. They are the size of a signal, not an amount anyone took. Treating 987 pg/mL as a dose would be like treating a temperature reading as an amount of heat to add. What a reading means is the subject of the Natriuretic peptide overview.

Do medicines that raise the body's own BNP count as natriuretic peptide dosing?

human RCT

No. They are the indirect route, because they slow the breakdown of the body's own BNP, whereas a nesiritide drip adds more of it. A 2018 review describes this as the prevention of BNP degradation by angiotensin receptor/neprilysin inhibitors, a class whose best-known member is sacubitril/valsartan.17 In the 2026 PRAISE-MR trial of 84 patients, target dose was achieved in 60% of patients, with symptomatic hypotension as the primary titration-limiting factor.18 Titration means stepping a dose up until a target is reached or a side effect stops it. Four in ten never reached the target, which shows a dose there is an individual end point rather than one number. These are approved prescription medicines with their own labels. Their amounts describe them, and none of those amounts is a dose of BNP.

What amounts of other medicines were judged by a natriuretic peptide reading?

systematic review

Many, because a reading is a common way to tell whether a heart medicine is easing strain. In HARP-III, compared with irbesartan, sacubitril/valsartan lowered N terminal of prohormone brain natriuretic peptide by 18% on average across the study, in 414 people with kidney disease.19 The 2025 LEAF-CHF trial gave febuxostat, a medicine that lowers uric acid, for 24 weeks, and found it did not reduce plasma BNP levels at week 24 in patients with chronic heart failure.20 A 2019 meta-analysis found a levosimendan infusion in acute heart failure patients appeared to reduce BNP regardless of the comparator, except dopamine.21 Each figure is a dose of something else, and the natriuretic peptide is the gauge being read. A medicine that moves the gauge is not thereby a natriuretic peptide.

What amounts were used in the animal work, and why do they not convert?

animal model

The rat studies state amounts per kilogram of body weight, and they show how the word natriuretic, meaning salt-shedding, can itself become a yardstick for dosing. A 2014 rat study compared finerenone and eplerenone, two medicines that block a salt-retaining hormone, at equinatriuretic doses, meaning amounts chosen to make the rats lose the same amount of salt.22 In rats with heart failure after a blocked coronary artery, finerenone at 1 mg·kg·d, but not eplerenone at 100 mg·kg·d, reduced plasma prohormone of brain natriuretic peptide levels.22 A 2001 study in salt-sensitive rats fed an 8% salt diet used benazepril 10 mg/kg alone, valsartan 30 mg/kg alone, or the two combined at lower amounts.23 Those are rat amounts of other medicines. Converting any of them to a person is not valid, and this page does not do it.

Rat amounts of other medicines, not of a natriuretic peptide, from the animal work described above. Not converted to a person, and not a dosing guide.
StudyRatsMedicineAmount
2014 studyHeart failure after a blocked coronary arteryFinerenone1 mg·kg·d
2014 studyHeart failure after a blocked coronary arteryEplerenone100 mg·kg·d
2001 studySalt-sensitive, 8% salt dietBenazepril10 mg/kg alone
2001 studySalt-sensitive, 8% salt dietValsartan30 mg/kg alone
2001 studySalt-sensitive, 8% salt dietBenazepril + valsartanLower amounts, combined

What is given in the natriuretic receptor imaging study?

registered trial

A radioactive tracer that seeks out one of the receptors natriuretic peptides bind to, given in a dosimetry study, and dosimetry is the measurement of radiation dose to each organ. The registry entry is titled PET Imaging of Natriuretic Peptide Receptor C (NPR-C) in Carotid Atherosclerosis With 64Cu-NODAGA-CANF (Volunteer - Dosimetry Study).24 Its recorded status is recruiting, in an early phase 1 design.24 Carotid atherosclerosis is fatty build-up in the main neck arteries, and PET is a scan that tracks where a tracer collects. The dose in question there is a dose of radiation, measured so that a scan can be judged acceptable, and it is a different question from any dose of a hormone. With no result posted among these sources, that study describes a measurement being planned rather than a figure anyone can read.

Does an approved schedule apply to research-grade natriuretic peptide?

systematic review

No. Nesiritide was approved by the FDA in 2001 for patients with ADHF who have dyspnea at rest or with minimal exertion.25 A 2007 review called it a reasonable treatment adjunct only when used for approved indications and according to recommended dosage and administration regimens.26 Those regimens belong to the hospital product, made under its own controls and given into a vein by staff who can stop it. The labelled schedule is not quoted in the summaries behind this page, so this page does not state it, and the VMAC rates above are one trial's choice rather than a label. Even for that hospital product the evidence is unsettled, and the 2025 analysis concluded carperitide may not be superior to noncarperitide therapy in reducing in-hospital mortality rates or improving long-term outcomes.5 A vial sold as a research compound carries no label, no stated schedule and no monitoring, and no figure from a hospital setting reaches it.

Why are study amounts not a protocol?

systematic review

Because even inside the trials, the amount was one variable among several. The 2006 mortality meta-analysis said further analysis adjusted for nesiritide dose, duration of infusion, concurrent use of inotropes, heart failure stage, and arrhythmias may reveal subgroups in jeopardy.27 Inotropes are medicines that make the heart pump harder. Put plainly, the pooled trials could not separate the effect of the amount from who received it and alongside what. The 2025 LEAF-CHF trial found the fall in BNP was greater with febuxostat at weeks 4, 8, 12, 16 and 20, and yet no different by its end point at week 24.20 A dose that moves a reading at one week and not at another is a study result with conditions attached rather than a protocol. A rate lifted out of these trials and applied to a different person, in a different setting, would carry none of those conditions with it.

What we don’t know

The gaps in the evidence matter as much as the findings.

  1. 01What rate the FDA label for nesiritide specifies. The labelled schedule is not quoted in the summaries behind this page.
  2. 02What rates ASCEND-HF and ROSE-AHF used. Their summaries give durations and a low-dose description, not figures.
  3. 03Where the line between standard and high-dose nesiritide sits in figures. The 2015 meta-analysis that split kidney risk by dose does not define the bands in its summary.
  4. 04What amount of carperitide the nine studies gave, at what rate, or for how many days. The 2025 summary reports outcomes and no infusion figures.
  5. 05How the rat amounts relate to anything in a person. They were matched by salt loss in rats, and no conversion is valid or offered.
  6. 06Anything about natriuretic peptide sold as a research compound, including its strength. None of the research behind this page concerns it.

Sources

  1. 1An update on nesiritide for treatment of decompensated heart failure Expert Opin Investig Drugs 2001. doi:10.1517/13543784.10.5.935review
  2. 2Effect of nesiritide (B-type natriuretic peptide) and dobutamine on ventricular arrhythmias in the treatment of patients with acutely decompensated congestive heart failure: the PRECEDENT study Am Heart J 2002. doi:10.1067/mhj.2002.125620human RCT
  3. 3Effect of nesiritide in patients with acute decompensated heart failure N Engl J Med 2011. doi:10.1056/NEJMoa1100171human RCT
  4. 4The dose-dependent effect of nesiritide on renal function in patients with acute decompensated heart failure: a systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials PLoS One 2015. doi:10.1371/journal.pone.0131326systematic review
  5. 5Effect of carperitide on clinical outcomes among patients with acute heart failure: a meta-analysis of randomized and propensity‑matched studies BMC Cardiovasc Disord 2025. doi:10.1186/s12872-025-05394-0systematic review
  6. 6Nesiritide following maze and mitral valve surgery J Card Surg 2008. doi:10.1111/j.1540-8191.2007.00552.xhuman RCT
  7. 7ROSE-AHF and lessons learned Curr Heart Fail Rep 2014. doi:10.1007/s11897-014-0208-6review
  8. 8Annexin A1 is a Potential Novel Biomarker of Congestion in Acute Heart Failure J Card Fail 2020. doi:10.1016/j.cardfail.2020.05.012human RCT
  9. 9The Use of Nesiritide in Children With Congenital Heart Disease Pediatr Crit Care Med 2017. doi:10.1097/PCC.0000000000000996human pilot / early trial
  10. 10Brain natriuretic peptide (nesiritide) in the treatment of heart failure Cardiovasc Drug Rev 2002. doi:10.1111/j.1527-3466.2002.tb00080.xreview
  11. 11The role of nesiritide in heart failure Expert Opin Drug Metab Toxicol 2009. doi:10.1517/17425250903042300review
  12. 12Nesiritide: past, present, and future Minerva Cardioangiol 2005. PMID 16333235review
  13. 13Nesiritide for the treatment of decompensated heart failure J Card Fail 2001. doi:10.1054/jcaf.2001.22999review
  14. 14Efficacy and safety of nesiritide in patients with decompensated heart failure: a meta-analysis of randomised trials BMJ Open 2016. doi:10.1136/bmjopen-2015-008545systematic review
  15. 15Interchangeability of the KCCQ-12 and KCCQ-23 Across >18,000 Participants Enrolled in 4 Large-Scale Trials of Heart Failure J Am Coll Cardiol 2026. doi:10.1016/j.jacc.2026.03.026human pilot / early trial
  16. 16Baseline Characteristics of Patients With Heart Failure and Preserved Ejection Fraction in the PARAGON-HF Trial Circ Heart Fail 2018. doi:10.1161/CIRCHEARTFAILURE.118.004962human RCT
  17. 17Utility of natriuretic peptides to assess and manage patients with heart failure receiving angiotensin receptor blocker/neprilysin inhibitor therapy Postgrad Med 2018. doi:10.1080/00325481.2018.1440873review
  18. 18Angiotensin Receptor Neprilysin Inhibitor in Heart Failure With Preserved Ejection Fraction and Secondary Mitral Regurgitation: The PRAISE-MR Randomized Trial Circulation 2026. doi:10.1161/CIRCULATIONAHA.126.080833human RCT
  19. 19Effects of Sacubitril/Valsartan Versus Irbesartan in Patients With Chronic Kidney Disease Circulation 2018. doi:10.1161/CIRCULATIONAHA.118.034818human RCT
  20. 20Efficacy and safety of the urate-lowering agent febuxostat in chronic heart failure patients with hyperuricemia: results from the LEAF-CHF study Heart Vessels 2025. doi:10.1007/s00380-024-02448-9human RCT
  21. 21Effect of levosimendan in patients with acute decompensated heart failure : A meta-analysis Herz 2019. doi:10.1007/s00059-018-4693-3systematic review
  22. 22Finerenone, a novel selective nonsteroidal mineralocorticoid receptor antagonist protects from rat cardiorenal injury J Cardiovasc Pharmacol 2014. doi:10.1097/FJC.0000000000000091animal model
  23. 23Effects of combination of ACE inhibitor and angiotensin receptor blocker on cardiac remodeling, cardiac function, and survival in rat heart failure Circulation 2001. doi:10.1161/01.cir.103.1.148animal model
  24. 24PET Imaging of Natriuretic Peptide Receptor C (NPR-C) in Carotid Atherosclerosis With 64Cu-NODAGA-CANF (Volunteer - Dosimetry Study) NCT07800481registered trial
  25. 25Nesiritide: a reappraisal of efficacy and safety Expert Opin Pharmacother 2007. doi:10.1517/14656566.8.3.361review
  26. 26Benefit-risk assessment of nesiritide in the treatment of acute decompensated heart failure Drug Saf 2007. doi:10.2165/00002018-200730090-00004review
  27. 27Short and long-term mortality with nesiritide Am Heart J 2006. doi:10.1016/j.ahj.2006.07.002systematic review