Protocols
SNAP-8 protocols in the published literature
StatusCosmetic ingredient
PeptideHound Staff · Last editorially reviewed · 11 sources
No concentration of SNAP-8 (acetyl octapeptide-3) appears in the research behind this page, and no study among those sources injected it at any amount. What exists instead are the parameters used for its shorter relative argireline, every one of them applied to the surface of the skin.
The one stated strength is 10%: in 2002 an oil-in-water emulsion containing 10% argireline was applied for 30 days. The 2013 placebo-controlled trial applied argireline around the eyes twice daily for four weeks without stating the strength in its abstract, and a mouse study applied it twice daily for six weeks.
These are study parameters, not instructions, and they belong to a different molecule. A percentage in a jar is also not the amount that reaches living skin, because these peptides cross the skin's outer layer poorly.
For injection, the record in these sources is empty. The only injected agent in this literature is botulinum toxin, given into muscle in minute amounts, and nothing about that carries over to a cosmetic peptide.
Evidence: Not dosing guidance · the figures below are study parameters for argireline, a relative, reported as such · no SNAP-8 concentration in the research behind this page · every human study applied the peptide to skin · no injection study
What concentration of SNAP-8 did the published studies use?
human pilot / early trial
None that we could find. No study among the research behind this page tested SNAP-8 at any strength, so there is no published concentration, schedule or duration for it to report. Every figure on this page belongs to argireline, its six-unit relative, and is reported as a parameter of that study rather than as guidance for SNAP-8.
Within the family, one strength is stated in an abstract. The 2002 argireline paper tested an oil-in-water emulsion containing 10% of the hexapeptide on volunteers' skin.1 That is the single concentration on record across these sources. It was chosen by the team that designed the peptide, for a 30-day test, and the abstract does not explain how it was selected or whether lower strengths were compared. It describes one experiment rather than a range anyone mapped.
What did the related studies apply, and for how long?
human RCT
Four argireline studies describe what was applied, and each leaves something out. The 2002 volunteer study used the 10% emulsion for 30 days. In the 2013 placebo-controlled trial, argireline or placebo was applied to their peri-orbital wrinkles twice daily for 4 weeks, with no strength stated in the abstract.2
In the 2013 mouse study, argireline was applied to the aged mice twice daily for 6 weeks.3 In a 2018 laboratory study of four variants, the 4 peptides were dissolved in various propylene glycol and water co-solvents, two common cosmetic liquids, before being tested on skin.4
Read across, the pattern is twice-daily application to the skin for four to six weeks, at a strength stated only once. That pattern describes how researchers set up short experiments on a related peptide. It does not describe an established regimen for SNAP-8.
| Argireline study | Applied to | What was applied | Length |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2002 volunteer study | People | 10% emulsion | 30 days |
| 2013 placebo-controlled trial | Wrinkles around the eyes | Argireline or placebo twice daily; strength not stated | 4 weeks |
| 2013 mouse study | Aged mice | Argireline twice daily | 6 weeks |
| 2018 laboratory study | Skin, in the laboratory | 4 variants in propylene glycol and water | Not stated |
How often do you use SNAP-8?
No study among the research behind this page applied SNAP-8, so no frequency was tested for it. Every argireline study that states a schedule used the same one: twice a day. The 2013 trial and the 2013 mouse study both specify it, and a 2018 paper reports the earlier human results as measured after four weeks of twice-daily application.
Twice daily is a convenient laboratory routine that mirrors a morning-and-evening skincare habit. None of the studies compared it with once daily or three times daily, so the evidence cannot say whether frequency matters at all. A schedule that every study shared is not the same as a schedule shown to work better than the alternatives, because nobody behind this page tested the alternatives.
It is also worth separating frequency from amount. Applying a cream twice a day says nothing about how much peptide reaches the skin each time, which depends on the concentration, the formula and the skin itself.
How was it applied to the face in the studies?
review
The human studies applied the peptide where expression lines form. The 2013 trial targeted the peri-orbital area, the skin around the eyes where crow's feet appear, and measured results there with silicone casts. The 2002 study does not state the site in its abstract.
The vehicle, meaning the cream or liquid carrying the peptide, mattered enough for researchers to experiment with it. A 2025 review reports that formulation strategies such as oil-in-water (O/W) and multiple water-in-oil-in-water (W/O/W) emulsions have been explored to enhance its delivery.5 An emulsion is a blend of oil and water, and a multiple emulsion nests droplets inside droplets to protect the ingredient and release it more slowly.
These sources contain no instructions for application technique, amount per application or layering with other products. What they show is that the carrier was treated as part of the experiment, which means the same peptide in a different base is a different exposure.
What does a percentage on a label mean?
review
A percentage by weight is straightforward arithmetic. A 10% emulsion contains 10 grams of the stated ingredient in every 100 grams of formulation, equivalent to 100 milligrams per gram, and a 1% formulation contains a tenth of that. The arithmetic describes what was added to the container and nothing further.
The 2002 abstract does not specify whether its 10% referred to pure peptide or to a prepared solution containing it. A percentage on any label carries the same ambiguity unless it identifies precisely what it is a percentage of.
The more important gap is between the jar and the skin. A 2022 review of anti-wrinkle peptides concludes that most anti-wrinkle peptides might not reach their targets in the skin at right concentrations, whatever strength they are applied at.6 The figure on a label is the starting point of delivery rather than the quantity that eventually arrives.
Why is the amount in the jar not the amount delivered?
review
Because the skin is built to keep molecules like these out. A 2025 review explains that due to its hydrophilic nature and relatively large molecular size, argireline faces limited permeability through the lipophilic stratum corneum, the fatty outermost layer of skin.5 Hydrophilic means water-loving, and a water-loving molecule struggles to pass through a fatty barrier.
The 2022 class review adds that peptides are susceptible to the proteolytic enzymes in the skin, meaning enzymes that cut proteins apart, so some of what enters may be broken down before it acts.6
SNAP-8 is longer than argireline, and the reviews identify size as one of the obstacles. Nothing in these sources measured how much SNAP-8 crosses skin, so whether the extra length makes delivery harder is an open question rather than a finding.
Do chemical changes alter how much gets in?
in vitro
In the lab, yes, and this is where most of the work on getting these peptides into skin sits. The 2018 argireline study proposed that chemical modification of the peptide structure to reduce the formation of zwitterions may result in better skin permeability. A zwitterion is a molecule that carries a plus and a minus charge at once, and charged molecules pass through skin badly.4 A 2025 review of a different skin peptide found that metal complexation and chemical modification with a hydrophobic moiety increase permeability of this peptide, which in plain terms means that tying on a metal or a fatty tail helps it get in.7
The 2022 review is upbeat about the idea, and says their permeability can be raised to therapeutic concentrations using various enhancement approaches.6 None of these tricks was tried on SNAP-8 in these sources. What they show is that the amount that gets in turns on the chemistry and the formula, which is one more reason a strength from one product cannot be carried over to another.
How often do you inject SNAP-8?
review
There is no answer to report. No study among the research behind this page injected SNAP-8, argireline or any member of the family, so there is no injected amount, frequency, site or duration on record. We do not convert skin concentrations into injectable amounts, and no valid method for doing so exists in these sources.
The injected agent in this literature is the toxin the peptides imitate. A 2019 review describes how an intramuscular injection of minute amounts of BoNTs, primarily type A, has useful long-lasting muscle relaxation effects on spastic motor disorders.8 That describes an enzyme so potent that tiny amounts act for months, injected by clinicians into a chosen muscle. A cosmetic peptide is a different molecule with a different mechanism rather than a weaker version of the same one, and nothing about the toxin's amounts or intervals applies to it.
Do peptide shots really work?
human pilot / early trial
For this family of peptides, the question has not been tested in the research behind this page. Every human result, the 2002 wrinkle-depth measurement and the 2013 roughness trial, came from peptide applied to the skin. A result from a cream is not evidence about an injection, and the opposite holds too.
The design history points the other way. The developers of Trans-X note that intra-muscular injection of botulinum toxin is widely used for wrinkles and movement disorders, and they built their peptide precisely to avoid that route.9
Injected agents in this literature are studied with dose-response measurements. A 2023 mouse study reports that intramuscularly administrated BoNT/CD induced dose-dependent muscle paralysis, meaning the effect rose with the amount given.10 No comparable dose-response work exists for any injected cosmetic peptide among these sources, which is what any claim about peptide shots would need.
Is there a SNAP-8 dosage chart?
No, and one could not be constructed honestly from these sources. A chart requires rows of tested amounts with measured outcomes beside them. For SNAP-8 there are no rows whatsoever. For argireline there is a single stated concentration, one schedule repeated across studies, and no comparison between different strengths.
A study amount is also not a protocol. Each figure on this page was selected by a research team to answer a particular question in a particular population over a few weeks. None was compared against alternatives to identify the lowest effective strength or the concentration at which irritation begins. Converting those figures into a recommended range would manufacture information the studies do not contain.
What the evidence does support is a description. Argireline has been applied to skin twice daily for four to six weeks, once at a stated 10%, with measured changes in wrinkle depth and roughness. That is a record of experiments rather than a dosing schedule, and it describes a different peptide.
Is there a cycle or a break in the published work?
review
No. Every study of the family described in these sources applied the peptide continuously for its entire duration, four weeks, 30 days or six weeks, and then concluded. None included a pause, a resumption or a period of observation after application stopped.
The concept of cycling a cosmetic peptide, using it for a period and then deliberately stopping, therefore has no basis in this research either way. It was neither tested and found unnecessary nor tested and found beneficial. It simply formed no part of any study design, which is an absence of evidence rather than a finding.
Breaks do matter for the toxin, for a reason specific to it. A 2025 review notes that the development of immunogenicity, leading to neutralizing antibodies, remains a challenge that impacts long-term therapeutic efficacy, meaning repeated injections can provoke the immune system into disabling the toxin.11 Whether a small cosmetic peptide provokes anything similar was not examined in these sources.
The longer-term questions that cycling is meant to address, such as whether an effect fades with continued use or whether skin reacts after months, are the same ones no study among these sources followed participants long enough to answer. They are taken up on the SNAP-8 safety page.
What we don’t know
The gaps in the evidence matter as much as the findings.
- 01What concentration of SNAP-8 was ever tested. No study among the research behind this page gives one.
- 02What concentration the argireline trial used. Its abstract gives the schedule, twice daily for four weeks, but not the strength.
- 03How much of any concentration reaches living skin. Peptides of this kind cross the outer skin poorly, and the delivered amount was not measured for SNAP-8.
- 04What any injected amount does. No study among these sources injected SNAP-8 or a relative, so there is no injected amount to report.
- 05Whether longer use, breaks or higher strengths change anything. Every study ran continuously for four to six weeks and then stopped.
Sources
- 1A synthetic hexapeptide (Argireline) with antiwrinkle activity Int J Cosmet Sci 2002. doi:10.1046/j.1467-2494.2002.00153.xhuman pilot / early trial
- 2The anti-wrinkle efficacy of argireline, a synthetic hexapeptide, in Chinese subjects: a randomized, placebo-controlled study Am J Clin Dermatol 2013. doi:10.1007/s40257-013-0009-9human RCT
- 3The anti-wrinkle efficacy of Argireline J Cosmet Laser Ther 2013. doi:10.3109/14764172.2013.769273animal model
- 4Enhanced Skin Permeation of Anti-wrinkle Peptides via Molecular Modification Sci Rep 2018. doi:10.1038/s41598-017-18454-zin vitro
- 5Acetyl Hexapeptide-8 in Cosmeceuticals-A Review of Skin Permeability and Efficacy Int J Mol Sci 2025. doi:10.3390/ijms26125722review
- 6Skin permeability, a dismissed necessity for anti-wrinkle peptide performance Int J Cosmet Sci 2022. doi:10.1111/ics.12770review
- 7Topically applied GHK as an anti-wrinkle peptide: Advantages, problems and prospective Bioimpacts 2025. doi:10.34172/bi.30071review
- 8Botulinum Toxin Type A in Dental Medicine J Dent Res 2019. doi:10.1177/0022034519875053review
- 9Alleviation of abnormal synaptic neurotransmitter release by cell-permeable form of the truncated SNAP-25 upon transcutaneous delivery Neurosci Lett 2013. doi:10.1016/j.neulet.2013.02.055human pilot / early trial
- 10Characterization of Serotype CD Mosaic Botulinum Neurotoxin in Comparison with Serotype C and A Toxins (Basel) 2023. doi:10.3390/toxins15020123human pilot / early trial
- 11Botulinum Toxin Therapy: A Comprehensive Review on Clinical and Pharmacological Insights J Clin Med 2025. doi:10.3390/jcm14062021review
