Skip to content
PeptideHound

Protocols

Glutathione protocols in the published literature

StatusDietary supplement

PeptideHound Staff · Last editorially reviewed · 17 sources

No regulator has established an amount of glutathione for any indication; the research offers only the quantities randomised trials administered orally, 200 mg to 1,000 mg daily for three weeks to six months. Intravenous administration, where the documented harms concentrate, has no standardised amount whatsoever.

The clearest dose evidence concerns circulating levels. A six-month trial in 54 adults compared 250 mg and 1,000 mg daily, recorded rising levels at both, and reported the larger changes in the 1,000 mg group. Other trials administered 1,000 mg for three weeks in obese men, 500 mg for six months in people with diabetes, 500 mg for four weeks in acne, and 200 mg combined with citrulline for four weeks.

None of those trials evaluated a starting amount, a gradual increase, a cycle or a break. Each amount was selected to answer one question in one population, and only one trial compared two amounts, so the figures describe what investigators administered rather than an established dose.

Every one of these trials investigated glutathione as supplementation rather than as an approved medicine, so no official label specifies an amount. A 2025 review of skin lightening reports a lack of standardized dosing protocols, particularly for the drip.

Evidence: Not dosing guidance · human trials used 200 mg to 1,000 mg a day by mouth, once daily, for 3 weeks to 6 months · 1 trial compared two amounts, measuring blood levels only · no published amount for intravenous or liposomal use in people

What amounts of glutathione did the published studies use?

human RCT

Five amounts appear in the human trials behind this page, all administered orally, once daily, and fixed from the first day to the last, which makes them study parameters rather than recommendations.

The largest was in a 6-month randomized, double-blinded, placebo-controlled trial of oral GSH (250 or 1,000 mg/day)1, which ran two amounts side by side. A 3-week trial in obese men gave either 1000 mg GSH per day or placebo for 3 weeks2. A six-month diabetes trial reports that 125 diabetic patients were additionally given 500 mg oral GSH supplementation daily for a period of six months3, on top of their usual diabetes medicines. An acne trial gave 500 mg oral glutathione (n = 22) or placebo (n = 18) once daily for 4 weeks4.

The smallest amount appears within a combination: a vascular trial administered CIT+GSH (2 g + 200 mg: Setria®)5, meaning 2 g of the amino acid citrulline with 200 mg of a branded glutathione. The published range therefore extends from 200 mg to 1,000 mg daily, and the upper end was investigated for six months at most.

Oral, once-daily glutathione amounts in the human trials described above. Study parameters, not recommendations.
TrialDaily amount by mouthLength
Body-stores trial250 or 1,000 mg6 months
Trial in obese men1000 mg3 weeks
Diabetes trial (125 patients)500 mg, on top of usual medicinesSix months
Acne trial500 mg4 weeks
Vascular trial200 mg, with 2 g of citrullineNot stated in this section

Who received those amounts?

human RCT

Mostly people with a specific condition, which matters because an amount chosen for a disease was never tested as a general-purpose figure.

The one trial in a general population enrolled 54 non-smoking adults1 and measured stores in the body rather than any health outcome. The 1,000 mg three-week trial enrolled twenty subjects (10 patients with T2DM and 10 obese subjects)2, all of them men2. The 500 mg six-month trial enrolled people already on diabetes treatment, aged between 30 and 78 years3. The acne trial took people with mild to moderate acne, and the blood-vessel trial took healthy postmenopausal women.

Children appear once. The GROW study was a phase II clinical trial in pancreatic insufficient patients with CF between the ages of 2 and 10 years7, CF being cystic fibrosis, and its abstract does not state the amount given. Each figure on this page therefore comes attached to a population, and lifting one out of its trial removes the context that made it a reasonable choice for that group.

How was glutathione given in the studies?

animal model

By mouth in every human trial with a stated amount, and by other routes everywhere else. The route changes what an amount means, so it belongs in the same sentence as any number.

A 2025 narrative review covers the three routes people actually use for skin lightening, setting out to evaluate the efficacy and safety of oral, topical, and intravenous glutathione in skin-lightening therapies6. It reports no standard amount for any of them. Liposomal glutathione, a form wrapped in fat bubbles to protect it from digestion, appears as an animal treatment: in mice infected with tuberculosis, L-GSH supplementation increased total hepatic levels and reduced GSH8, the liver being where it was measured.

The remaining routes are specialised. Gerbils received glutathione mixed into their feed9, and in one pharmacy experiment the oxidised form was added to intravenous feeding bags10 for premature newborns. A capsule, a cream, a drip and a feeding bag are four different exposures, and a milligram figure from one route does not describe a dose by any of the others.

How often was glutathione given, and for how long?

human RCT

Once a day in every human trial that states a schedule, and never longer than six months. No trial among the research behind this page split the daily amount into two doses or spaced doses further apart, so the once-daily pattern is a convention of these trials rather than a comparison that was tested.

Durations clustered at two ends. The short trials ran three to four weeks, including the acne trial and the citrulline combination, which the registry lists as an Effect of 4 Weeks of Citrulline and Glutathione Supplementation on Arterial Function11, now marked COMPLETED11. The long trials ran six months, and in children the GROW trial gave reduced glutathione or placebo orally daily for 24 weeks7.

The longest trial also tells you something about timing within that window. In the six-month body-stores trial, GSH levels in blood increased after 1, 3 and 6 months versus baseline at both doses1, so the rise was already present at the first check. That says when a blood level moved, which is a different thing from when a person would notice anything.

Did a higher amount of glutathione do more?

human RCT

Only one human trial compared two amounts directly, and it measured accumulated body stores rather than any clinical benefit. That trial administered 250 mg or 1,000 mg daily, and circulating levels rose with both. The biggest changes that trial reports belong to the larger amount: at 6 months, mean GSH levels increased 30-35 % in erythrocytes, plasma and lymphocytes1, which are red cells, the fluid part of blood and white cells, in the high-dose group.

That is a dose response for a laboratory measurement, and the evidence stops there. Nothing in that trial demonstrates that the larger increase in stores produced a larger effect on skin, blood sugar or any outcome a person would notice.

The reviews treat this as an open problem. A 2026 review of glutathione in type 2 diabetes lists dose-response mapping, and long-term outcomes12 among the gaps that are urgently needed to move the field forward, and a 2026 review of oral use asks for research to determine the best dosages13. Both reviews describe an optimal amount and an upper limit that remain undetermined.

What amounts are used for skin lightening, by mouth or by drip?

review

No agreed amount exists for either, and the main review on the subject says so as its central finding. The 2025 skin-lightening review found that oral administration shows significant but variable decreases in melanin levels6, melanin being the pigment that darkens skin, without giving an amount that produced them.

The intravenous route has the same gap with higher stakes. The review describes the drip as further aggravated by a lack of standardized dosing protocols6, which means two clinics can give very different quantities for the same cosmetic aim. Its call is for rigorous, large-scale clinical trials to establish long-term safety, optimal dosing, and standardized applications6.

For a reader trying to judge a skin-lightening course, that leaves a specific gap. The oral amounts on this page come from trials of blood levels, diabetes, acne and arteries, not from a skin-lightening trial with a stated dose, and the drip has no published amount at all among these sources. What is known about harm from the drip is laid out on the Glutathione safety page.

Is there a cycle or a break in the published glutathione work?

human RCT

No trial among the research behind this page used a cycle, a planned break or an on-off pattern. Every schedule was continuous daily intake for a fixed period, followed by measurement.

That matters for a common question about whether stores stay up after stopping. The six-month body-stores trial measured levels while people were still taking it, and its authors conclude that daily consumption of GSH supplements was effective at increasing body compartment stores of GSH1. Daily consumption is the operative phrase, since the abstract reports no measurement after the capsules stopped.

The same applies to the diabetes trial, which reports changes within the six months of supplementation, and to the children's trial, which ran 24 weeks and stopped. So whether levels fall back in days or months, and whether a break changes anything, has not been asked among these sources. Any cycling schedule seen online is an invention layered on top of trials that never tested one, rather than a finding drawn from them.

Did any glutathione trial start low and build up?

human RCT

No. Every human trial behind this page administered its full amount from the first day and maintained it throughout, so there is no published starting dose and no titration schedule to report. Titration means increasing an amount step by step to find a tolerated level.

That was a reasonable design for what the trials were asking. The diabetes trial was testing whether 500 mg a day on top of standard care would move blood markers, and it found that blood GSH increased (Cohen's d = 1.01) and 8-OHdG decreased (Cohen's d = −1.07) significantly within three months3, 8-OHdG being a marker of damage to DNA. Cohen's d is a standard measure of how large an effect is.

It also means the trials say nothing about whether a lower opening amount changes anything. The stomach complaints that two 2026 reviews describe as the most commonly reported problem1412 were reported under fixed amounts, and no study among these sources tested whether building up slowly reduces them. That does not tell you a gradual start is pointless; it tells you the comparison was never part of any trial design.

Does a liposomal form change how much glutathione is needed?

animal model

That is the claim behind liposomal products, and no human amount has been published for one among the research behind this page. The liposomal evidence is animal work without a dose in its abstract.

In mice with tuberculosis spread to the liver and spleen, liposomal glutathione raised tissue levels, and M. tb survival was significantly reduced in the liver and spleen following L-GSH supplementation8, M. tb being the tuberculosis bacterium. A 2020 review argued for the possible use of liposomal GSH as an adjunctive treatment in COVID-1915, without testing any amount in a person.

The idea that a liposome lets a smaller amount do the same work is plausible, which is not the same as measured. The 2026 diabetes review lists exploring targeted delivery systems12 among its future directions, which is a way of saying the comparison has not been run. A liposomal label quoting a smaller figure as equivalent to a larger plain one is making a claim the published trials have not tested.

Do the animal glutathione amounts transfer to people?

animal model

No, and we do not convert them. The animal studies express amounts in units that have no human counterpart, which is reason enough to leave them where they are.

Chinese mitten crabs received glutathione as a share of their food, at 0, 300, 600, 900, and 1200 mg/kg diet weight16, which is milligrams per kilogram of feed rather than of body weight. In a rat heart study, the animals were given the glutathione precursor N-acetylcysteine (NAC, 100 mg IP per animal)17, injected into the abdomen, and in those rat hearts NAC treatment increased cardiac glutathione content by 42%17. A precursor is a raw material the body uses to make glutathione, so that figure is not a glutathione dose at all.

Each of those numbers belongs to its species, its route and its question. Scaling from a crab's diet or a rat's abdomen to a person's capsule is not validated, and a figure that looks precise in an animal study becomes guesswork the moment it is carried across.

Why is a glutathione study amount not a protocol?

review

Because each amount was chosen to answer a research question, in a particular group, for a fixed period, and none of the trials was designed to find the right amount for anyone. A protocol would need that comparison, and the reviews agree it has not been made.

The 2026 review of glutathione in HIV and tuberculosis describes the shortfall plainly: translation into routine clinical practice remains limited by methodological heterogeneity, short study durations, and lack of standardized biomarkers and long-term outcome data14. Heterogeneity here means the trials were built differently from one another, so their amounts cannot simply be lined up and averaged.

There is also no regulator's figure to anchor against. Every human trial behind this page tested glutathione as supplementation rather than as an approved medicine, so no label exists that sets an amount for any indication. The amounts above describe what was given. What a reader decides to do with them is outside what these studies can answer, and the broader evidence on what glutathione does is on the Glutathione overview.

What we don’t know

The gaps in the evidence matter as much as the findings.

  1. 01The best amount for any purpose. Only one trial compared two amounts, and it measured blood stores rather than a benefit.
  2. 02Any standard amount for intravenous glutathione. A 2025 review reports a lack of standardized dosing protocols for the drip.
  3. 03How much a liposomal form changes the amount needed. No human amount for a liposomal preparation appears among the research behind this page.
  4. 04What happens after stopping. The trials measured levels during daily use and did not report how fast stores fall afterwards.
  5. 05Whether a cycle, a break or a gradual build-up changes anything. Every trial used a fixed daily amount from the first day.
  6. 06What amount suits a skin-lightening course. The oral amounts on record come from trials of blood levels, diabetes, acne and arteries.
  7. 07What the children's cystic fibrosis trial gave. Its abstract reports daily oral dosing for 24 weeks without stating the amount.
  8. 08Anything past six months. That is the longest daily course among these trials.

Sources

  1. 1Randomized controlled trial of oral glutathione supplementation on body stores of glutathione Eur J Nutr 2015. doi:10.1007/s00394-014-0706-zhuman RCT
  2. 2The effects of 3 weeks of oral glutathione supplementation on whole body insulin sensitivity in obese males with and without type 2 diabetes: a randomized trial Appl Physiol Nutr Metab 2021. doi:10.1139/apnm-2020-1099human RCT
  3. 3Randomized Clinical Trial of How Long-Term Glutathione Supplementation Offers Protection from Oxidative Damage and Improves HbA1c in Elderly Type 2 Diabetic Patients Antioxidants (Basel) 2022. doi:10.3390/antiox11051026human RCT
  4. 4Effectiveness of oral glutathione in reducing nitric oxide and IL-1α concentrations for clinical improvement in mild to moderate acne vulgaris: a randomized controlled trial Acta Dermatovenerol Alp Pannonica Adriat 2025. PMID 41014073human RCT
  5. 5Combined Citrulline and Glutathione Supplementation Improves Endothelial Function and Blood Pressure Reactivity in Postmenopausal Women Nutrients 2023. doi:10.3390/nu15071557human RCT
  6. 6Exploring the Safety and Efficacy of Glutathione Supplementation for Skin Lightening: A Narrative Review Cureus 2025. doi:10.7759/cureus.78045review
  7. 7Oral Glutathione and Growth in Cystic Fibrosis: A Multicenter, Randomized, Placebo-controlled, Double-blind Trial J Pediatr Gastroenterol Nutr 2020. doi:10.1097/MPG.0000000000002948human RCT
  8. 8Liposomal Glutathione Supplementation Mitigates Extrapulmonary Tuberculosis in the Liver and Spleen Front Biosci (Elite Ed) 2023. doi:10.31083/j.fbe1503015animal model
  9. 9Oral glutathione supplementation drastically reduces Helicobacter-induced gastric pathologies Sci Rep 2016. doi:10.1038/srep20169animal model
  10. 10Stability of glutathione added as a supplement to parenteral nutrition JPEN J Parenter Enteral Nutr 2022. doi:10.1002/jpen.2280animal model
  11. 11Effect of 4 Weeks of Citrulline and Glutathione Supplementation on Arterial Function NCT04672447registered trial
  12. 12Efficacy and Safety of Glutathione Supplementation in Type 2 Diabetes & Diabetes Complications Nutrients 2026. doi:10.3390/nu18132132review
  13. 13A review of the potential benefits and limitations of oral glutathione supplementation Inflammopharmacology 2026. doi:10.1007/s10787-026-02336-wreview
  14. 14Efficacy and Safety of Glutathione Supplementation in Patients with HIV Infection and HIV-Tuberculosis Co-Infection Nutrients 2026. doi:10.3390/nu18040571review
  15. 15Glutathione Supplementation as an Adjunctive Therapy in COVID-19 Antioxidants (Basel) 2020. doi:10.3390/antiox9100914review
  16. 16Dietary reduced glutathione supplementation can improve growth, antioxidant capacity, and immunity on Chinese mitten crab, Eriocheir sinensis Fish Shellfish Immunol 2020. doi:10.1016/j.fsi.2020.02.064primary research
  17. 17N-acetylcysteine prevents the deleterious effect of tumor necrosis factor-(alpha) on calcium transients and contraction in adult rat cardiomyocytes Circulation 2004. doi:10.1161/01.CIR.0000109499.00587.FFanimal model